Contact Information

General Inquiries: 01865 987 222
Box Office: 01865 980 980

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra


Brahms Sonata No. 1 in C major, Op. 1
Brahms Sonata No. 2 in F sharp minor, Op. 2
Brahms Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5

A legendary figure on the keyboard circuit and recipient of the International Classical Music Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award, Elisabeth Leonskaja was born in Soviet Georgia (where she also enjoys the official accolade ‘Priestess of Art’) but has spent many years in Vienna, steeped in Austro-German cultural tradition. Her Brahms performances are globally acknowledged as commanding and authoritative. And this Oxford programme of the composer’s three piano sonatas – all of them early works but powerful in scope, strength and ambition – promises to be a landmark concert, guaranteed to linger in the memory of those who hear it.


Upcoming events